Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
basser
Chatterbox
ENGLAND
basser is male  basser has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

27-02-2018, 04:34 PM

Advice needed REF Cat's

My OH and I have decided to get a cat after many years of being Catless, could you Cat lovers out there please give us some advice about cats IE food sleeping accommodation etc etc anything that you might think that would be useful and helpful.......Thankyou Cat lovers
Mel15
Nowhere
Mel15 is female  Mel15 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

27-02-2018, 05:00 PM

Re: Advice needed REF Cat's

Im no expert, I got a rescue 18 months ago all rather short notice

I fed him Lidl wet, the sachets, cheap, but also not full of fillers. However he went of that ( as cats do ) and has kind of settled on Tescos Cats choice in Jelly but only the fish one. He also gets Harringtons complete. I went for the Harringtons because once again its a good food, not fill of cereals and I can get it locally

He doesn't like cat beds. We have tried all types but nope, he likes a blanket on the sofa, the end of our bed, back of the sofa, in front of the fire

Scratch pads/poles are a must and a spray of cat nip to keep him going to that rather then the carpets and furniture

Arthur was neutered and vaccinated when we got him, thats something you need to look into

We had to put a cat flap in which was no easy job as it had to go through a cavity wall. We solved that by buying two flaps and fashioning a tunnel

When we first got him we shut all the doors we could so that his space to roam and hide was as small as possible and not too frightening As he came out of his shell we opened more rooms to let him explore. We had him for about 4 weeks before we let him out. Now he comes and goes at will, mostly disappears about 3am and comes in about 7am for feeding