Join for free
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-06-2018, 01:09 PM

My friend's dog

My friend's dog, a big heavy crossbreed - bigger than a Rottie, has just damaged a cruciate ligament.

The vet has just x-rayed it yesterday and said it will need surgery - approx £2,500 !!! The dog isn't insured.

I do not know an awful lot about this problem other than what I have researched. I have no personal experience of it.

I understand the recovery can be 3 - 4 months before they are back to normal, and very often physio and hydrotherapy are recommended to aid recovery and build muscle strength again.
It can also lead to over-use of the good leg, which can make that ligament go too.

Has anyone here any personal experience of this injury with their dog please?
Twink55
Chatterbox
Cheshire, England
Twink55 is female  Twink55 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-06-2018, 02:21 PM

Re: My friend's dog

I have no experience of it Mups, but I do remember talking to a lady at my vets who had a huge dog with the same problem.
The dog had the operation and then spent weeks going back to the vets for exercise on a water treadmill...... which is a treadmill that is under water where the dog can exercise without having to carry all of its weight. Apparently the water makes them much lighter on their legs so they feel less strain.
Lion Queen
Chatterbox
UK
Lion Queen is female  Lion Queen has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-06-2018, 04:24 PM

My bichon had a cruciate injury and after the op he was in terrible pain which lasted a few days, however, once the pain subsided he recovered very well. He came in limping one day on the other and the vet said it was the same injury on the other leg and he could have an operation on that one too.