Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
MickB
London UK
MickB is male  MickB has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-03-2017, 09:22 AM

The forgotten bass player

Following on from Fender's drummer thread. I've been playing guitar for 55 years, but have only recently been trying to teach myself bass. Now I find myself focussing on bass lines when I listen to music. Bass and drums are the backbone of rock music. Here are a couple of my favourite bass players.

Firstly a completely self-taught player who emerged from Punk, played in John Lydon's Public Image Ltd and eventually formed Invaders of the Heart - Jah Wobble

Next one of the greatest ever rock/jazz bass players - Jack Bruce

..and something completely different - Robbie Shakespeare bass king of reggae

fender
Chatterbox
SE England
fender is male  fender has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-03-2017, 05:17 PM

Re: The forgotten bass player

Wasn't there an old saying that a bass guitarist was a frustrated lead guitarist?

I must admit, I've always listened to the bass lines in tracks. Can make or break a song.
Older git
Chatterbox
South Lincs
Older git is male  Older git has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-03-2017, 05:30 PM

As a devoted Free follower I would have to mention Andy Fraser
Longdogs
Chatterbox
SW England
Longdogs is male  Longdogs has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

30-03-2017, 08:56 PM

And Mark King.
Devo
SW UK
Devo is male  Devo has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-04-2017, 10:38 AM

You cannot have a bass player thread without a mention of the late, great (but bloody annoying to watch) Chris Squire...

MickB
London UK
MickB is male  MickB has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-04-2017, 11:01 AM

Originally Posted by Devo ->