Join for free
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 > Last »
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Surrey
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-01-2017, 09:33 PM

Spelling and grammar

Ok I'm not that good at spelling and my grammar isn't brilliant but I'm increasingly seeing teachers on the internet who spell worse than I do ! What is that saying about how kids are being taught ? One thing I love about having take Grace out of the local school is the one she now attends is crazy strict on spelling and grammar, if they get it wrong its explained again, they are tested again and again until they get it right.

I am seeing 8 year olds able to spell better than some teachers !

Shouldn't we expect the same in all schools ? It really does make a difference to a child's confidence that they know how to structure and spell a sentance.

Or am I being too nit picky ?
Judd
Chatterbox
West Riding of Yorkshire
Judd is male  Judd has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-01-2017, 10:02 PM

Re: Spelling and grammar

No, you're not being picky. Poor spelling really irritates me especially on forums such as this when the use of freely available spell-checker browser add-ons could be used.

Don't some posters proof read their posts before clicking on the submit reply button?

[/endrant]
Tpin
Chatterbox
UK
Tpin is male  Tpin has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-01-2017, 10:08 PM

Originally Posted by Judd ->
No, you're not being picky. Poor spelling really irritates me especially on forums such as this when the use of freely available spell-checker browser add-ons could be used.

Don't some posters proof read their posts before clicking on the submit reply button?

[/endrant]
Yu want two tri thit on a fone with sooch small butons.
Pumicestone
Australia
Pumicestone is male  Pumicestone has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more