Join for free
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

03-02-2014, 01:04 PM

Podiatrists

Does anyone here have Podiatry help?
Well if so, you'll be lucky if you can still get it in future.

My feel are quite healthy in most ways, but the problem I have is they 'roll inwards' so without my Orthotics to correct this, I am walking on the inside edge of my foot and it is painful.
I just sent in a request form to the NHS about a new appointment and received a letter back saying my problem "does not fall within the criteria for local NHS care".
I have just phoned them and enquired as to what's going on, and told them I have been receiving care for several years with them, and the lady replied that they have had to cut so much money, including laying half of their Podiatrists off. She then suggested I ring Age UK for advice!

So beware, all you folks that need help with their feet.
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Surrey
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

03-02-2014, 01:07 PM

Re: Podiatrists

I have been paying for my podiatrist help for nearly 10 years, if you have problems before retirement that has as far as I could find out always been the way.

My husband had his ingrown nail removed on NHS but all treatment leading to it and after was paid for by us too.
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

03-02-2014, 01:14 PM

Originally Posted by Julie1962 ->
I have been paying for my podiatrist help for nearly 10 years, if you have problems before retirement that has as far as I could find out always been the way.

My husband had his ingrown nail removed on NHS but all treatment leading to it and after was paid for by us too.

Don't know Julie, as my probs only started after I retired.
Pats
Lincolnshire