Join for free
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 > Last »
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

19-06-2015, 07:46 PM

Tomatoes

Alan, with you being Tomato Grower of the year, (), can I ask why you think the trusses on my cherry toms don't start till they are about over half way up the plant? Any idea?
They are fed and watered properly, so could it be just the variety or something else?

Anyone else got any ideas?
Alan Cooke
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire, UK
Alan Cooke is male  Alan Cooke has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

19-06-2015, 08:13 PM

Re: Tomatoes

I'm no expert but I think it's quite natural - it's the same with my 'shirley' tomatoes.
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

19-06-2015, 08:15 PM

Oh, that's interesting, I thought it was just mine. Thanks Alan.
orangutan
Chatterbox
Another world
orangutan is female  orangutan has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

19-06-2015, 10:07 PM

Not just yours, Mups. Same with mine!
Older git
Chatterbox
South Lincs
Older git is male  Older git has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

20-06-2015, 07:39 PM

It`s perfectly normal,plants need to be fully established before they produce fruit. And remember if anyone is growing varieties noted for their large fruit then each truss will need support-the weight of fruit will tear the truss off otherwise.
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire

20-06-2015, 11:06 PM

Originally Posted by Older git ->
It`s perfectly normal,plants need to be fully established before they produce fruit. And remember if anyone is growing varieties noted for their large fruit then each truss will need support-the weight of fruit will tear the truss off otherwise.