Join for free
Kev60
Germany. Black Forest.
Kev60 is male  Kev60 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-09-2017, 10:18 AM

Rhubarb?

We transplanted a rhubarb crown two years ago and it's grown into a huge plant. I'm just wondering how to prepare it for winter. I know that all the leaves should be removed but what I can't find out is, do you let them die off on the plant or remove them while they are still green? What I've read is that while the stalks are edible the leaves are poisonous and contain oxalic acid. While the leaves are so big I'm wondering if it does anything to the soil.
Eliza
Chatterbox
England
Eliza is female  Eliza has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-09-2017, 03:38 PM

Re: Rhubarb?

I tried growing Rhubarb once and failed so im no expert , if the leaves have gone over i would think take them off and dispose of them to the tip , cause if left they will just form a breeding ground for slugs snails and other pest .
First frost will take care of them ,

Someone will probably come along now and tell you correctly.
Meg
Supervisor
Worcestershire
Meg is female  Meg has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-09-2017, 03:57 PM

Hello Kev I would leave the leaves alone, the frost will kill them off but move them when it does to expose the crown to frost.

The old gardeners used to say 'dig up your rhubarb back end and throw it on the ground' I would never do anything quite that drastic but the principle of exposing the crown is the same.
Muddy
Chatterbox
UK
Muddy is female  Muddy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-09-2017, 05:11 PM

Interesting I would like to move my rubarb perhaps this is the right time.
Kev60
Germany. Black Forest.
Kev60 is male  Kev60 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-09-2017, 06:21 PM

That sounds like good advice Meg. Thankyou.