Join for free
Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 > Last »
Mups's Avatar
Mups
Chatterbox
Mups is online now
Northamptonshire
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 32,955
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:10 AM
1

Itv+4

Does anyone know about much telly's?

Last night I was going to watch an old Sean Connery film on ITV+4 (channel 24), but when I pressed the remote, a notice came up on screen saying I couldn't watch that channel unless I upgraded to HD.

I haven't got a clue what that means. I thought it was built in the telly as it is a new-ish one.

Can anyone explain please?
Reply With Quote
TessA
Official Poinker
TessA is offline
Cloud cucoo land
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 15,671
TessA is female  TessA has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:12 AM
2

Re: Itv+4

You might have gone on the hd channel by mistake. Some channels have separate hd ones. I do that sometimes.
My tv is supposed to be hd but because I only have basic Sky I can't watch most of it unless I upgrade.
Reply With Quote
Mups's Avatar
Mups
Chatterbox
Mups is online now
Northamptonshire
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 32,955
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:34 AM
3

Re: Itv+4

Morning Tess.
If that is so, does that mean I pressed something on the remote I shouldn't have done?
I still don't know how to uprade though? Do I have to get a telly man in?
Reply With Quote
summer's Avatar
summer
Senior Member
summer is offline
yorkshire
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,155
summer is female  summer has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:37 AM
4

Re: Itv+4

I upgraded to HD and honestly I can't tell the difference in the picture quality.
Reply With Quote
Mups's Avatar
Mups
Chatterbox
Mups is online now
Northamptonshire
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 32,955
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:40 AM
5

Re: Itv+4

Originally Posted by summer ->
I upgraded to HD and honestly I can't tell the difference in the picture quality.

Yes, but HOW did you upgrade Summer?
Reply With Quote
caricature's Avatar
caricature
Senior Member
caricature is offline
Devon,England.
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 991
caricature is male  caricature has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 10:59 AM
6

Re: Itv+4

Originally Posted by summer ->
I upgraded to HD and honestly I can't tell the difference in the picture quality.
More importantly there won't be any improvement in content quality either.
Reply With Quote
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Julie1962 is offline
Surrey
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 38,376
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 11:26 AM
7

Re: Itv+4

Some channels have doubled up their normal channel with their hd one, BBC 1 did it and caused all sorts of problems with our human box. Couldn't record anything on BBC for weeks, in desperation we reset it to factory settings and then did a software update and all is now well but I was furious they messed it up with no warning we pay our licence fee we had a right to know IMO it took much research on line to find it out and no one had any idea how to make the box compatible.
Reply With Quote
summer's Avatar
summer
Senior Member
summer is offline
yorkshire
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,155
summer is female  summer has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 11:29 AM
8

Re: Itv+4

Originally Posted by caricature ->
More importantly there won't be any improvement in content quality either.
Very true, HD costs 10 per month, well that's what I pay. I think I'll cancel it.
Reply With Quote
summer's Avatar
summer
Senior Member
summer is offline
yorkshire
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 4,155
summer is female  summer has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 11:31 AM
9

Re: Itv+4

Originally Posted by Mups ->
Yes, but HOW did you upgrade Summer?
I have sky Mups and it's an option they offer.
Reply With Quote
OldGreyFox's Avatar
OldGreyFox
Chatterbox
OldGreyFox is online now
South Yorkshire
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 7,336
OldGreyFox is male  OldGreyFox has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 
 
12-01-2018, 11:52 AM
10

Re: Itv+4

Originally Posted by Mups ->
Does anyone know about much telly's?

Last night I was going to watch an old Sean Connery film on ITV+4 (channel 24), but when I pressed the remote, a notice came up on screen saying I couldn't watch that channel unless I upgraded to HD.

I haven't got a clue what that means. I thought it was built in the telly as it is a new-ish one.

Can anyone explain please?
We are on 'Freeview' Mups, and there is no need to upgrade to receive HD if your telly is a newish one. HD channels start at 101 which is BBC1 then they go 102 = BBC2 103 = ITV 104 = Channel four and so on.....Like Summer though, I find very little difference between the ordinary channels and HD. Sometimes they show different things on the HD channels, for example, the local news can not be seen on a HD channel.
Hope this helps Mups.....
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 > Last »

Thread Tools


© Copyright 2009, Over50sForum   Contact Us | Over 50s Forum! | Archive | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Top

Powered by vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.