Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
suey
Shropshire
suey is female  suey has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

20-08-2009, 09:44 PM

Acers

I have 2 Acers one upright Acer Palmatum auterperpurium which is planted in the ground and is about 7ft high and doing fine and another weeping one Acer Palmatum auterperporium disectum which is in a pot and it seems to be suffering a little this year there is quite a lot of dyeback on it ... It is about 10 years old and it isn't potbound any ideas as I don't want to lose it...
Sue
dinahsmum
SW England
dinahsmum is female  dinahsmum has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-08-2009, 09:25 AM

Re: Acers

I think they are very sensitive to wind. Is it in a draughty spot? Do you think relocating the pot might help? Or maybe just changing the compost but keeping the same pot?

I'm not an expert - I hope someone can offer you more definite help
angieh
Hampshire, UK
angieh is female  angieh has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-08-2009, 11:48 AM

Has it become waterlogged at all? Sorry not to be able to give better advise. Have you tried searching online for helpful hints? I just had a quick Google and there seems to be several gardening forums with similar questions and answers.

I transplanted an Acer from pot to ground several years ago and I have to say it has done so much better in the ground.
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-08-2009, 02:33 PM

I have an acer growing in a large pot which is stood on wheels as it's so heavy. In the Spring I always move it to a sheltered spot where it is protected from too much sun which would 'burn' its delicate leaves and it's also sheltered from strong winds which can damage it. I also top-dress it with ericacious compost occasionally.