Join for free
AutumnColour
Chatterbox
Trent Hills, Ontario
AutumnColour is female  AutumnColour has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-05-2014, 08:45 PM

Geraniums

I never used to be a geranium person, but in the last few years I always get enough to fill a couple of pots, loving these plants now. Luckily I can get the plants for $1 each at WalMart & they're nice & healthy too.

The store doesn't carry a myriad of colours so I pick the pinks but love the deeper shades of pink, pinky red.

One thing I find relaxing & sounds silly but I really enjoy deadheading the flowers. If you know geraniums, you see there's wee stalks of flowers in each cluster so I like picking off the dead ones.

One thing I've never done is try to save geraniums before winter. Has anyone done this successfully?
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-05-2014, 10:59 PM

Re: Geraniums

Hi Autumn, I save any favourite ones, or take cuttings otherwise. They overwinter indoors on my windowsills. I have bought two more this year, a lovely deep warm red, and a purple & white flowered, and I shall definitely take some cuttings from those. I had one particular soft pink one that belonged to someone who died about 7 years ago, and I have taken cuttings from that most years so I always have one of those even though I no longer have the mother plant.
Janela
Fondly Remembered
Essex UK
Janela is female  Janela has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

12-05-2014, 04:15 PM

Like you Mups, I overwinter all my geraniums but mine are in the greenhouse (frost free) and I take cuttings too. I should think I've trebled my collection!
My daughter has mentioned a liking for the salmon coloured ones, so I have half a dozen ready to pot on for her.
My favourite at the moment is a red zonal pelargoium, vibrant and compact
Robert Junior
Chatterbox
UK