Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
SageCat
Suffolk, UK
SageCat is female  SageCat has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-09-2009, 02:53 PM

Disc Problem

I had to have an MRI scan on my back last week as I have been having a very painful back episode. I already knew that I have stenosis in my lower spine, and I've been coping and managing it for several years, but this has meant that as time has gone on I'm being more and more restricted in things that I can do comfortably, and was told that I would probably need surgery at some point. About a month ago, I knew that something had changed by the amount of pain I was suddenly in which wouldn't go away with the normal medication I usually take to control it. I was put on a cocktail of pain-killing drugs which did help a bit but unfortunately put me in a zombie-like state. I continued going to work but the effort was exhausting and I really shouldn't have been driving with what was in my system, so had to give in and have been off work for just over a week. Anyway, I had my scan result phoned through to me yesterday and apparently is shows a prolapsed disc. I was told that an emergency referral was being made to see an orthapedic consultant, so I'm just waiting now to find out more and what treatment/op will be done. Having already had a spinal fusion in my neck where two discs had to be removed quickly as they were about to cut through my spinal cord several years ago, I'm feeling a little bit scared.

I'll keep you posted ...............
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-09-2009, 03:23 PM

Re: Disc Problem

Sorry to hear that SageCat, the pain you're going through must be awful. I've suffered with back pain for years too but nothing compared to what you have to put up with.

I hope your consultant will be able to help you ......good luck.
dinahsmum
SW England