Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
William
New Member!
Sheffield
William is male 

11-02-2012, 03:53 PM

DIY Drills for the young at heart

Hi all, i am new to your wonderful forum today !
Firstly though i have to make an appology, i am only 20 ! However i am looking to gather some first hand information from anyone who is willing to post their thoughts to help me out!

I am a Product design student from Sheffield Hallam University, and at the moment i am taking part in a live project for B&Q. The project is to design a power tool, prodiminantly a drill to cater specifically to an audience that is not the typical main user of drills.

I am working towards the idea of a drill aimed at a more mature audience who already/ or who would like to spend time doing DIY around the house!
The drill is designed to be a uni sex product, that is easy to use and meets the audiences needs.

My main ideas from a few questionaires i have carried out are as follows:

A Compact Corded drill with a short life battery included for small quick jobs,
Multi functional, Hammer and screwdriver capabilities,
Light weight and well balanced,
Well constructed for longevity,

Any thoughts or features that anyone would like to see, or just thoughts in general on the product would be greatly apperciated !

Thanks for reading, I look forward to hearing from you

Cheers Will
Jem
Chatterbox
Dublin
Jem is male  Jem has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-02-2012, 05:04 PM

Re: DIY Drills for the young at heart

Hello William, speaking for myself, I have been using power drills for a long time now and I'm sure so have many of the members here. Cordless and lightweight are very important to me also the quick changing chuck.
Good luck to you in your project.
The Dog Lover
Watford
The Dog Lover is female  The Dog Lover has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-02-2012, 05:17 PM