Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Rhian
Chatterbox
North Wales
Rhian is female  Rhian has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

28-04-2019, 01:54 PM

Dream Job

Having been so inspired by Carol's home decorating thread I do sometimes wonder if I should have tried to make it as an Interior Designer
Making up mood boards, sketching the ideas and helping to choose patterns and textures ...it really excites me
I worked as a Photographer's Assistsnt for a while after Uni
My favourite part of that was "dressing" the room sets and he trusted me with it too.
I also worked as a Ceramic Painter and later a Ceramic Modeller. Both were satisfying but I felt limited creatively. However I chose teaching as a career in the end because it fitted well around family life. I enjoy it but it doesn't get me going like I know Interior design would have done.

Did you end up doing your dream job or did you compromise like me?
What was the job you always wanted?
Primus1
York
Primus1 is male  Primus1 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

28-04-2019, 03:35 PM

Re: Dream Job

I always wanted to be a chicken sexer, but I couldn’t handle the tweezers......
Artangel
Chatterbox
UK
Artangel is female  Artangel has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

28-04-2019, 03:45 PM

I applied to be an air hostess but was told l was too small at 5’.2”. Boo Hoo...
Pyxell
South of England
Pyxell is female  Pyxell has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

28-04-2019, 03:48 PM

Rhian, it's not too late!

Why not have a go at starting out small?

Maybe offer to do a friend's room for free (just ask for expenses), then you can photograph before and after and use those to offer your services, very cheaply to start with, to build up a satisfied clientèle.

The beauty of that is that you can do as much or as little work as you want to.