Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Bruce
Chatterbox
Wollongong, Australia
Bruce is male  Bruce has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

12-01-2019, 09:11 AM

Your Computer Filing System?

Just as a matter of interest how do you keep your files orderly and relatively easy to find? (I warn you this is going to be an entry of Realist proportions.)

My personal system is one I have been using for many years (and which I copied from someone else) but I find it works well. When I started it I had a lot of catching up to do so initially it took me many hours to convert to this system but once started then it is easy to continue with.

The system works for spreadsheets, text files, Word documents, Powerpoint (virtually any type of file) and photos and the basic premise is common to both though obviously they are kept in different libraries.

The hardest thing with a Windows based computer is that the computer sorts character by character - ie it doesn't look at a number as a whole. For example a list of numbered file names say 1 3 20 99, 100, 2019 would be sorted thus:

1, 100, 20, 2019, 3, 99

The way to overcome this is by adding leading zeros in this case to get the correct order you would need numbers:

0001,0003, 0020, 0099, 0100, 2019

Dates are a particular problem for example

20-07-2019 would end up before 21-02-2017.

OK that's the problem here is my current solution.

Dates are entered YYYY MM DD that way they are always in order for example 2017-02-21 comes before 2019-07-20

Get the idea? Photos are usually the most important by sheer numbers. So with photos they are in a folder for each day as automatically done by my photo manager Google's now abandoned Picasa and each photo has a date and number followed by a brief description of the subject:

I also add the camera ID to each folder but that is not necessary.