Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
ben-varrey
Chatterbox
UK
ben-varrey is female  ben-varrey has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-03-2013, 09:52 AM

Reusing Bagged Compost

I'm very new to the 'grow your own' regime so am very green about most things.

Last year, I had a go at growing runner beans (which I love) and they did really well. I also planted some potatoes but the plants didn't flower so not sure if there are any potatoes. However, I loved being able to pick my own runner beans so I have decided to have another go this year.

As I live in a coastal region and in an area where the soil is quite sandy, I bought bags of organic compost to plant all my stuff in (herbs failed ) - can I use that same compost again this year (I bought planting bags to grow things in - they're about 3ft deep and 2ft across)?
Nobaggage
Cornwall UK/ Carcassonne France
Nobaggage is female  Nobaggage has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-03-2013, 10:18 AM

Re: Reusing Bagged Compost

You should be able to use it again as long as your plants didnt die from a decease or fungal problem ... give it a good watering and some feed first before planting ...
ben-varrey
Chatterbox
UK
ben-varrey is female  ben-varrey has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-03-2013, 10:25 AM

Originally Posted by Nobaggage ->
You should be able to use it again as long as your plants didnt die from a decease or fungal problem ... give it a good watering and some feed first before planting ...
That's good to know - thank you. Carting those heavy bags of compost about is no joke! My eldest granddaughter is a gem and will often help with things like that but I don't like to keep asking her so it would be handy to be able to reuse it. Not sure why the potatoes didn't grow - I couldn't bring myself to put my hand in all that soil to see if any had grown