Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
jsm6022a
New Member!
Gainesville,FL USA
jsm6022a is female 

28-09-2018, 10:28 PM

Type II Diabetes

Was recently diagnosed. Am on Metformin 3 times a day and 8 units of Humulin N at night. Would like to know how you handle your Type II regime as I am new to mine.
longfellow
Chatterbox
Penthouse in Essex overlooking the Thames.
longfellow is male  longfellow has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

28-09-2018, 10:45 PM

Re: Type II Diabetes

I have supposedly diabetes my sugars are sky high in the 70s and 80s but my symptoms when I was asked are all similar to the ones I have had for years with my Emphysema. So not really quite sure what level of diabetes I have and to be truthful I ain't really bothered.
I was in hospital about 2 months back now with my breathing, and I had my finger test twice a day and it was up and down from 11 to 14
I did ask my gp just what is going on because the readings from the nurses at the hospital were completely different to the clinics and why am I getting 2 different types of readings.
I told her they all maybe reading the same book but are all on different pages in my opinion they should all be doing the same test's.
Anyways told my gp what to do with the Metformin it was screwing up my stomach now I am on Alogliptina and Empagliflozin so far so good been a couple of weeks now and my stomach as never felt better.

Good luck with your meds I hope they have got them right the first time..
susiejaeger
Chatterbox
Essex, UK
susiejaeger is female  susiejaeger has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

29-09-2018, 07:29 AM

Hi Jackie,

I have been Diabetic Type I for over 30 years now and manage it well.
As long as you eat a sensible healthy diet and omit all sugars, cakes, carbs you will be alright.

You can also look on the Internet under:

www.diabetes.co.uk or www.diabetes.org

they are both very helpful.
Devo
SW UK