Join for free
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 > Last »
Fogey
Shropshire
Fogey is male  Fogey has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

17-04-2013, 01:57 PM

Damned Cold Callers.

Now I've heard it all!

Doorbell rings.......... Door answered.............. There stood a stranger who needed a shave.

"Good morning Sir", he says, touching his ID tag around his neck.

"Can you not read", says I, indicating the No Cold Callers sign displayed prominently at eye level.

"I'm not a cold caller", says he. "I'm a professional communicator".

"Do I know you"?, says I.

"No", says he.

"Did I ask you to call"?, says I.

"No", says he.

"Then you're a cold caller", says I, closing the door.

So much for his professional communication.
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

17-04-2013, 02:13 PM

Re: Damned Cold Callers.

So that's how you get rid of them ...... thank you Fogey, I'll take a leaf out of your book!

"Professional communicator"...... that's a new one on me!
Patsy
Chatterbox
UK
Patsy is female  Patsy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

17-04-2013, 02:15 PM

Good one Fogey
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Surrey
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

17-04-2013, 02:20 PM

Brilliant ! We are lucky here it's rare anyone knocks the door, if they get through the security door downstairs 9/10 are too lazy to walk up the stairs to us.
Willow
UK
Willow is female 

17-04-2013, 02:58 PM

Apart from on one occasion, cold callers have respected my 'No cold callers, thank you' notice. Our road was infested by JWs this morning to whom I have a particular aversion. They put a leaflet through the door but didn't ring the bell. I was watching the Thatcher funeral so would have been more irritated than usual at being disturbed!
Rachel
Chatterbox
UK