Join for free
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 > Last »
Alicat
West Berkshire
Alicat is female  Alicat has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-10-2010, 04:32 PM

New laptop - what do you recommend?

I'm definitely buying a new laptop in the next couple of weeks. I'm probably going to buy one from PC World. I don't want an Apple or an IPod. I would like one with a 15-17 inch screen, a photo card slot in the side. It wont be one I will be carrying around, it will just be put on a desk. It must have wi-fi connection.

I really only want it for photos and music.

Has anyone got any advice on what make is best or anything I should be looking for as I haven't got a clue as I'm not technical minded.

Any advice greatly received thanks (but like I say, I don't want Apple or I Pod).
Azz
Admin
South Wales, UK
Azz is male  Azz has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-10-2010, 07:18 PM

Re: New laptop - what do you recommend?

If you won't be carrying it around - why do you want a laptop? Desktops will give you more bang for your buck and will be cheaper to repair (and upgrade too).

Also, why are you dismissing a Mac? They are much easier to use and don't suffer from PC viruses - that alone has been a godsend since I switched a lot less worry about my private files/photos or even credit card details being stolen so easily. Also if you're worried about cost, you'll probably find you need to upgrade your PC a lot sooner than your Mac - because they don't get 'bogged down' as much as PCs do over time. Sorry about the hard sell lol - but Macs really are a very good system these days, and shouldn't be ignored
Manxman
Manchester, UK
Manxman is male  Manxman has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

21-10-2010, 07:25 PM

I use 3 pc at home.

Tower in study, handy for storage and extra large screen.

]Laptop, handy for working away from home watch dvd's listen to cd.