Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
carol
Chatterbox
Derbyshire.
carol is female  carol has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

06-02-2021, 07:13 PM

Hair colour

I'm thinking of having a go at home hair colouring. I'm about 50/50 grey/dark brown. I want to keep the dark brown but highlight the grey - maybe make it golden brown or similar.

Can anybody recommend any colourants that will alter the grey but leave the dark colour as it is?

I'm a novice at this - never coloured my hair since I tried henna when I was 20!!

Pixie Knuckles
Chatterbox
Scotland, UK
Pixie Knuckles is female  Pixie Knuckles has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

06-02-2021, 07:23 PM

Re: Hair colour

I use Colour Effects by Superdrug. It only costs a pound and is semi permanent. I don't have a lot of grey in my medium brown hair, - its kind of in patches - but what I discovered is that this stuff highlights the grey to look like golden brown highlights, while darkening the rest of my hair to a reddish brown (because the colour I choose is 6.4 Rich Red). I'm sure it would do the same if you wanted more of a warmer brown for yourself. It washes out in about 8 washes, so you can change if you don't like it.
Minx
Chatterbox
South Africa
Minx is female  Minx has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

06-02-2021, 09:11 PM

I have no idea about color Carol - sorry. Please post the end results
carol
Chatterbox
Derbyshire.
carol is female  carol has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

07-02-2021, 12:07 AM

Originally Posted by Minx ->
I have no idea about color Carol - sorry. Please post the end results

I might be completely white by then.

Just thinking about it and gathering information at the mo...
Muddy
Chatterbox
UK
Muddy is female  Muddy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

07-02-2021, 07:26 AM