Join for free
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 > Last »
Cookiecate
Chatterbox
Blackpool
Cookiecate is female  Cookiecate has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-04-2012, 03:54 PM

Jams, Jellies and Chutneys

We have decided to take part in some of the County Fares and Food Shows this year. I have been making jams, jellies and chutneys for about seven years now and did well when I sold them on our street markets.

I am wondering if any of you have a favourite jam or chutney recipe that you would pass on.

I made some summer fruit jam yesterday, it was basically made with some frozen fruits that we had in the freezer, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, black & red currants and it was lovely. Hubs said it reminded him of the jam his gran used to make.

Then it occurred to me that lots of us have grans and mums who made stuff to remember.

My rhubarb and ginger jam was a big hit so is my strawberry, plum and blackcurrant.

This time around I have made some pineapple which is the most fiddly stuff I ever did but so worth the effort.

I have made mango chutney, rhubarb chutney and red tomato chutney and relish.

I know it's early to start but our first Food Show is in May at Ewood Park so it's jars jars and more jars and sweet jammy dreams.
anniemuldoon
N Cumbria
anniemuldoon is female  anniemuldoon has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-04-2012, 04:32 PM

Re: Jams, Jellies and Chutneys

It sounds like the WI all over again,I used to like the WI,all singing Jerusalem to start off with.I was going to join here but it wasnt the same as Cabus WI.
Uncle Joe
Chatterbox
Brighton UK
Uncle Joe is male  Uncle Joe has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-04-2012, 05:11 PM

Cate darlin' is there a fair you're attending down this neck of the woods??? - I'll buy some of your jams and chutneys.
Cookiecate
Chatterbox
Blackpool