Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Mollie
Chatterbox
Wigan in Lancashire
Mollie is female  Mollie has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-09-2012, 01:11 AM

Kids

Yep, I've got another grump, but I do believe this is well-founded.

I have never been maternal but I do believe that mums and dads should have a natural instinct to protect their kids and safe-guard them and indeed have a care of duty toward them.

However, I am sick and weary of seeing children playing in the middle of our road when the parents have a perfectly good back garden where they can be safe.

Ours is a quiet road and I'm a careful driver but, on several occasions, I've swung my car into the road where I live, to find children playing smack bang in the middle of it. They usually disperse quickly as I'm mindful that they might be there, but there's one little lad who cannot be more than 3 years old with a micro-scooter or whatever they're called, scooting along on his own and I've regularly had to stop until he's dragged his scooter off the road, and himself.

Where are the parents? Do they care? Are they interested? I have had to screech to a stop on several occasions now and I've wagged my finger at the little boy who has no comprehension of what danger he's in.

His parents moved in across the road from me just a couple of months ago. Their front door is ALWAYS open no matter what the weather, and when the kid goes out he screams at the top of his voice crying. The older kids from next door to him, when they're out, try to look after him, but I don't think I've ever seen the parents yet.

I feel like I should do something but, short of calling Social Services which I'd hate to do, I do fear for this child's safety.
Bruce
Chatterbox
Wollongong, Australia
Bruce is male  Bruce has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-09-2012, 04:14 AM

Re: Kids

Originally Posted by Mollie ->