Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
tarantula
Chatterbox
UK
tarantula is female  tarantula has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

16-03-2018, 04:37 PM

How should you treat a disabled person?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-43418251

I found this article interesting.

Disabled people might need some help because of their disability, but as people they should be treated like everyone else, not pitied, or spoken to any differently than you would an able bodied person.

I treat my brain damaged husband as I would have done before his brain haemorrhage in 2006. I don't pity him and tell him like it is, even if that doesn't always make me popular. I do things for him, but I expect him to help me out with the things I am not good at. He cleans the windows much better than me, and I expect him to clean the car too.

However, there is a relative of mine who treats him like he was fragile! They don't let him do anything for himself, they jump up and assist him, which drives him absolutely crazy. At least when they visit, he realises how much he appreciates the way I am with him
Artangel
Chatterbox
UK
Artangel is female  Artangel has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

16-03-2018, 05:04 PM

Re: How should you treat a disabled person?

I don’t like it when people speak to a disabled person in a patronising manner.
Neither, do l like it when someone will speak to the person with them/their carer, as if the disabled person is invisible or incapable of answering for themselves.
CeeCee
UK
CeeCee is female  CeeCee has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

16-03-2018, 05:15 PM

My best friend for over twenty years was a quadruple amputee. She operated her chair with the stump of her right arm. Not only did she have no arms or legs, but also had an ileostomy. She was totally reliant on others, despite that she lived alone.