Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Julia F
Surrey
Julia F is female 

17-05-2015, 08:20 PM

Challenging relationship with a daughter-in-law?

Hi,

I'm a freelance journalist who writes content for Saga. I've asked the mods and they have kindly given me permission to post some questions on here so that I can get some real life experiences.

If anyone would be up for contributing to some quotes that I can use (it will only be first names that are used and I can use a fake one) that would be really helpful.

So the third article I am going to be posting about in your forums tonight (last one promise!) is about building a relationship with a difficult daughter-in-law (DIL). Of course I am the perfect DIL so find this hard to comment on (haha, maybe not, I do try though!).

Do any of you ladies have any tips for how you have managed to get along with a DIL when things may have proved tricky at certain points? How did you deal with a situation where a DIL may have not wanted much to do with your family?

Or perhaps things have always been good between you because you have done things in a certain way?

Any feedback on this would be really interesting research for my article (and as above I will use some short quotes from this thread if you are happy to contribute).

Best wishes,
Julia
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Surrey
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

17-05-2015, 08:24 PM

Re: Challenging relationship with a daughter-in-law?

I was the DIL had a very rocky start with my MIL few years into my marriage after a particularly difficult day I just sat down with her and said we both love him and have to find a way to get on as this is making him unhappy. We chatted for ages and at the end we were firm friends to the point when she died I think I missed her as much as my husband did as I lost my best friend.
Anita
Midlands, UK