Join for free
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 > Last »
Losos
Fondly Remembered
West Suffolk
Losos is male  Losos has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

03-10-2010, 01:35 PM

The art of mice catching!!

OK this is the time of year when the little devils come inside and for those of us who live in the country it can be infuriating to find the damage they can do. I have been battling with this problem since we moved here five years ago and here are my thoughts:-

First, a warning, if you do catch one do NOT relax, there will always be more than one, possibly a lot more

TRAPS

The temptation is to go out and buy one of traditional traps, you know the ones with a rectangular piece of wood with a crude spring and wire lever thing...........don't waste your money, they maybe cheap but they are useless, time consuming to set, difficult to get any bait to stay on and worst of all they often only catch the mouse by the leg and I have had several dragged away and not found for days.

There have been a few firms who have tried to improve on this basic design and go by the name of 'Super Cat' or 'Little Cheese' these are a bit better at catching them but you MUST mount them on a thick heavy flat piece of wood about 12 inches square. If you screw them down make sure the trap can still be set, I used to use hot melt glue which was quick and strong enough to hold it in place.
But, the mice can still get the bait off without triggering the trap, or get the bait and get away before the arm has come down on them.

There is a bigger version of the traditional type which has a removeable bait 'dish' in the centre, this makes it easier to put the bait in but I still found that the wire arm sometimes only partly caught the mouse and you are faced with an injured and not dead mouse the next morning so I would not recommend these.