Join for free
nero
Central Scotland
nero is male  nero has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

15-10-2009, 11:14 AM

Winter is near - will the power fail ?

The time of power cuts is nigh, do you have a UPS, (uninterrupted power supply), it the power fails it stops your PC from crashing thus preventing data loss, just think, all those photos and personal stuff you cherish could be lost.

I've been using one for 8 years, they cost about £30, if the power fails it has internal batteries (which recharge) that instantly supply your PC in a mili-second, they also have surge protectors too so you're completely safe.
Moli
Aberdeenshire
Moli is female  Moli has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

15-10-2009, 12:13 PM

Re: Winter is near - will the power fail ?

We are very lucky, do not lose our power very often, although we have a generator, only used it once...............
Mags
Supervisor
South West UK
Mags is female  Mags has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

15-10-2009, 12:16 PM

We rarely lose our power down here ....... famous last words!
Losos
Fondly Remembered
West Suffolk
Losos is male  Losos has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

15-10-2009, 12:18 PM

Very good idea Denis, as it happens we've had two power failures this morning, (35 minutes and then 10 minutes)what the electricity companies like to call 'unplanned outages' mind you there's been heavy snow storms in the vicinity and the it's caught the gritters on the hop 'cos it's usually not 'till next month when the snow comes around here

I have an inverter and a battery (Which is basically the same as a UPS) for the computers and I will be getting a bigger set up soon so we can continue to watch TV and have a few lights on while they fix the problem.