Join for free
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 > Last »
Nom
Chatterbox
Northumberland
Nom is male  Nom has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-05-2014, 09:30 AM

Your first Job after leaving School.

Was it a good choice, or did you get a shock.?.

I already had 2 paper rounds so earning my keep was already in my psyche. However as an apprentice Electrician i visualized standing in someones home putting a plug on their TV.

So there i was first morning all shiny and new, crisp white shirt and tie, shiny shoes all buttoned up and raring to go.

First job was a beautiful and very old rural cottage and it was hot. Then it went downhill, i was sent into the loft which had fiberglass and was covered in dark black dust, i came out and was made to stand on a blanket so i could be brushed down with a broom.

Next task was to screw ceiling roses to the massive and very hard Oak beams, result blisters everywhere.

Home dirty, itchy, and blistered, a shock was an understatement.
Julie1962
Chatterbox
Surrey
Julie1962 is female  Julie1962 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-05-2014, 09:37 AM

Re: Your first Job after leaving School.

My first job after leaving school was kitchen assistant in a convent, there was a bit of a power struggle between the Nun who thought she was in charge of the kitchen and the Kitchen manager/cook. Resulted in all of us being given conflicting instructions and we didn't know who to obey. I left after a month as it was driving me mad and Friday fish day just finished me off- we used to cook so much fish I would get on the bus home stinking of the stuff and people would move away from me I found a job in a factory where I wouldn't end up smelling and the management structure was set in stone.
Patsy
Chatterbox
UK
Patsy is female  Patsy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-05-2014, 09:39 AM

Originally Posted by Nom ->