Join for free
tarantula
Chatterbox
UK
tarantula is female  tarantula has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-04-2018, 11:33 AM

Drugs which may cause dementia

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-43881209

I was rather concerned when I heard this on the news this morning. My husband is taking one of the drugs, an anticholinergic, which is thought could possibly cause dementia. I have noticed that since he started taking it a couple of years ago his memory is getting worse. Of course it might have nothing to do with the drug he requires for his overactive bladder problems.

Is anyone else on this forum taking any anticholinergic drugs?
Twink55
Chatterbox
Cheshire, England
Twink55 is female  Twink55 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-04-2018, 11:47 AM

Re: Drugs which may cause dementia

Tara, I have no knowledge or experience of these drugs, but I would suggest you speak to your husbands doctor about them as he may be able to put your mind at rest.
tarantula
Chatterbox
UK
tarantula is female  tarantula has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-04-2018, 12:22 PM

Originally Posted by Twink55 ->
Tara, I have no knowledge or experience of these drugs, but I would suggest you speak to your husbands doctor about them as he may be able to put your mind at rest.
I doubt anything can be done, anyway. It would be very difficult to tell if the drug is anything to do with his memory loss, or just natural age progression and of course he does have half his brain trashed as well.
Artangel
Chatterbox
UK
Artangel is female  Artangel has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-04-2018, 12:36 PM

Tara, l read about this in the newspaper yesterday.
One was, some medication for Depression and as you say, the other was for Bladder problems.

I don’t take any of those medications but it must be worrying for those that do.
Ffosse
Chatterbox