Join for free
unistudent
New Member!
Brighton, UK
unistudent is female 

11-02-2011, 12:40 PM

Do you ever struggle replacing batteries?

Dear forum users,

I'm a mature student currently working on an inclusive design project at the University of Brighton. I'm aiming to design a device that makes replacing AA and/or AAA batteries easier as it can be much more of a struggle than it needs to be for a lot of people. This device would take very little effort to use also for persons with limited dexterity.

I have joined this forum as I am hoping to get in touch with people who would potentially be interested in such a device.

As a starting point, I would like to know about your own experiences replacing batteries from remote controls, portable radios, alarm clocks and the like. Do you tend to use a screwdriver to lever them out or do you normally ask others to replace the batteries for you? Are there any other issues you would like to raise regarding battery removal?

Any thoughts or input greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Caroline
Jem
Chatterbox
Dublin
Jem is male  Jem has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-02-2011, 01:44 PM

Re: Do you ever struggle replacing batteries?

Hello Caroline, I wish you luck in your venture. Thankfully I don't have too much bother changing batteries, but the thing I find most annoying, say in a remote control, is trying to find the tiny arrow that points the direction the batteries should go, when you unscrew the cover the inside is black plastic and you cant see a damned thing. I have to get my eye-glass out to find it. I'm all for any device to make it easier.
Antibrown
Cumbria UK
Antibrown is male  Antibrown has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

11-02-2011, 03:35 PM

Hi Caroline