Join for free
stevmk2
Milton Keynes
stevmk2 is male  stevmk2 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

14-02-2014, 02:19 PM

MOT & Service

I've been looking around trying to find a better garage locally to get my car MOT & Service and after all the problems with the car last time with the fuel sender I couldn't face going through the long wait and aggravation there again so I thought I'll look at Halfords Autocentres.

I looked up online reviews and the first thing that I found is the the AA are unofficially recommending members avoid Halfords for MOTs & Servicing!

Where I live we have loads of garage services and I've tried most of them over the years and often found the bumping up of bills for minor, often probably unnecessary things, work being done without your permission and not giving you the true information on total costs until it's all been done.

The garage I've been using for three years I suspected of doing that last time with the fuel sender sealing ring which THEY broke, hence my wanting to find a better garage.

It now seems that they are few and far between locally so I'll be going back to them again, mainly because they actually provided a courtesy car after the cock-up.

Better the devil you know but this time I'm making it clear to the proprietor that as he's AA-recommended and I'm an AA member, any failings or cock-ups this time around will result in my informing the AA and his AA-recommendation could be at risk.

I think that's fair and reasonable so we'll see what he says.

If he doesn't like it I'm stuffed but I've really had enough of the escalating costs of running a car and I'm not one capable of doing this myself.

What do you think - fair? stevmk2
Alan Cooke
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire, UK
Alan Cooke is male  Alan Cooke has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

14-02-2014, 04:10 PM

Re: MOT & Service