Join for free
bobmielke
Portland, OR
bobmielke is male  bobmielke has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

01-02-2010, 11:17 AM

Early Retirement

I'm 60 right now with my birthday this May. My employer, Intel Corp. has announced the shutdown of my plant on June 30, 2010. That's only about 5 months from now. They gave the notice last January so I've had plenty of time to make my decision to retire about a year early.

I moved into a tiny apartment to cut my rent by $310 a month. Of course that also saves on the utility bills. I purchased a scooter that gets 67 miles per gallon of gas and a Smart car that gets 38 MPG. I've canceled all magazine & newspaper subscriptions and cut my cable service to a minimum package.

I am a military veteran and will be eligible for medical coverage after leaving my job. I have a physical exam within a week and will get my doctor to write new prescriptions for my medications that are all generics so that I can afford them.

I have purchased all the toys necessary to enjoy myself once retired. I have new camera gear & accessories as well as 3 up to date computers and software. I realize once retired I won't qualify for car loans so my vehicles are all paid for and new. I have no monthly payments other than the $535 rent.

I have three hobbies; motorcycling, photography & computers. I'm so passionate about all three that I don't plan on being bored with something to do. I live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest with more than a lifetime's work of photographic opportunities surrounding me.

I've worked for 42 years and am in reasonably good health. That will take a high priority as there are no longer any excuses to not stay active physically once retired. The apartment complex where I live has a complete workout gym as well as a heated swimming pool & spa.

The idea of retirement is both exciting and frightening at the same time. Wish me luck as that date draws closer.
buzzie
USA