Join for free
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 > Last »
Besoeker
Chatterbox
Doncaster, UK
Besoeker is male  Besoeker has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-09-2018, 11:48 AM

Measurement units

I'm an engineer by profession so units of measure are important for what I do and did. But they are important for all of us. We, UK, have gone from Imperial through various stages to SI units. I guess it's what most think of as metric. But is actually SI, Système Internationale

It is international apart from USA and Myanmar.In engineering, it simplifies calculations. In everyday life, it is a level playing field for international trade, to share recipes, weights, areas of land......the list goes on.

We, in Britain, hang on to our Imperial units. If I buy beer in a pub it is served by the pint - thank you CAMRA - whilst wine is served by the ml. Vehicle fuel is dispensed and charged for by the litre but fuel consumption is in miles per gallon.

I suppose we'll muddle on. Are stones used a a measure of weight anywhere else in the world?
Purwell
Chatterbox
North Herts, England
Purwell is male  Purwell has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-09-2018, 12:51 PM

Re: Measurement units

Rees Mogg will have us going back to Imperial Units.
Slugs and Poundals are so much easier than Kilograms Force and Newtons.
Avoirdupois for ever!
Longdogs
Chatterbox
SW England
Longdogs is male  Longdogs has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-09-2018, 01:10 PM

Originally Posted by Purwell ->
Slugs and Poundals are so much easier than Kilograms Force and Newtons.
Avoirdupois for ever!
Thank God for that. Get away from all this Eurocr@p.
Besoeker
Chatterbox
Doncaster, UK
Besoeker is male  Besoeker has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

26-09-2018, 01:37 PM

Originally Posted by Purwell ->