Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
shropshiregirl
Chatterbox
Shropshire
shropshiregirl is female  shropshiregirl has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

18-04-2019, 01:01 PM

Hanging baskets and raised beds advice please.

Need some advice please. We have arranged to have a large section of the garden paved in the middle of May, as well as new fencing with wooden posts. There are five posts in this section so have pre-ordered 5 x hanging baskets already filled, I have also bought 2 x 5ft troughs and 4 x smaller barrel planters in which to plant shrubs and bedding plants.

The advice I need (as a complete novice with gardening) is:

I guess the hanging baskets will have already had a feed when they arrive in the middle of May, so is it okay to just deadhead as needed,water them early morning every day, clear any fallen leaves from the soil and give them a tomato feed every 10 days upto about July and then once a week?

Where do I start with the troughs and planters? I have spent hours on websites such as Thompson-Morgan looking at beautiful flowers and shrubs, but I am completely stuck with which flowers and shrubs to get to show them off to their best advantage. i.e. height growth, etc.

If there are any seasoned gardeners on here, I really would be extremely grateful for any advice. I'm not even sure how much soil to buy to fill them all, and what is the best soil to buy?

I've also ordered 3 planters with v shaped trellis to plant honeysuckle, jasmine and rambling rose, what is the best soil for these climbers please?

Due to ill-health, I'm no longer as mobile as I used to be, so
thought I would try my hand at gardening. Everything cost so much money, I'm feeling rather daunted at the fact that I am at risk of wasting the same if I don't do it correctly at the start. I am looking forward to it, I just wish I had someone here that knew what I was getting up to says STOP! when and if I do something wrong.