Join for free
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Primus1
York
Primus1 is male  Primus1 has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

10-11-2020, 07:41 PM

I moved at the right time

It’s coming up to a year since I changed jobs, having been on the road as a service engineer for thirty years and being taken over by a company that I never wanted to work for, I decided I had to get out, taking advantage of my private pension, I was able to do just that, not having to rely on money so much, I now work as a maintenance man in a care home, no pressure whatsoever ( unless nobody’s filled the coffee machine) I am more or less my own boss and can do whatever I feel like, mostly painting, I’m still in touch with one of my colleagues who is desperate to get out, with the COVID-19, there have been lots of redundancies so I’m glad I’m out,,,, of course working in a care home can be a little sad as many of the residents aren’t going to be there forever and it’s sad when one passes, especially if you get on well with them. some have dementia and it’s very sad to see them deteriorate, sometimes frighteningly quickly, it’s the photos that get me, people just like you and me living normal lives, doing everyday things like we all do, and to see them as they are now..very sad, so if I’ve learned anything it’s to enjoy EVERY day, EVERY minute, try to laugh, and enjoy what you have left
Mups
Chatterbox
Northamptonshire
Mups is female  Mups has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

10-11-2020, 07:47 PM

Re: I moved at the right time

A lovely post Primus, and written with such care and compassion for others. Good man.

I understand what you are saying about the photos too, as I have done exactly the same, and felt just the same as you do.

Cheer up m'dear.
Lion Queen
Chatterbox
UK
Lion Queen is female  Lion Queen has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

10-11-2020, 07:50 PM

Originally Posted by Primus1 ->