Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Mr Magoo
London
Mr Magoo is male  Mr Magoo has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-09-2014, 12:56 PM

How are YOU!

Scenario One – What Actually Happens

Stranger : How Are YOU!

Me: I’m fine

Stranger: Now about that snake oil that I am going to persuade you to buy…

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scenario Two – What I Would Like To happen

Stranger : How Are YOU!

Me: You know, I find that question really irritating.

Stranger: Could you tell me why?

Me: Yes, I’ll try to explain. Firstly would I be right in thinking that you are not a doctor?

Stranger No, I am not a doctor.

Me: Right. Now like most people I have a number of real concerns regarding my health. Now why on earth would I want to discuss them with a complete stranger who is not medically qualified?

Stranger: I don’t understand why you are talking like this. Nobody else does.

Me: Oh I know what people usually do. They pretend everything is fine even when it isn’t. I do understand that this is the case.

But what I don’t understand why you imagine that I would feel well-disposed towards you when you have just submitted me to this meaningless charade.

Stranger: I am sorry that you feel like that. (Goes away looking for another mug to try and bamboozle,)
Patsy
Chatterbox
UK
Patsy is female  Patsy has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-09-2014, 01:00 PM

Re: How are YOU!

I get what you are saying there Mr. Magoo - cant stand salesmen anyway ....
Meg
Supervisor
Worcestershire
Meg is female  Meg has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

04-09-2014, 01:05 PM

Oh dear Quincy I think it is called 'making polite conversation' .
If it annoys you there is always the option of being a would be recluse like me and on meeting people rushing away with a grunt and a smile before any conversation is required.
Jem
Chatterbox