Join for free
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Mr Magoo
London
Mr Magoo is male  Mr Magoo has posted at least 25 times and has been a member for 3 months or more 

12-09-2014, 10:30 AM

When We Have Gone

Right away I want to say that I do not wish to offend anyone. What feels right for me does not necessarily feel right for you and I have absolutely no wish to impose my opinion on anyone else.

My subject is what should happen to our bodies after we have died. Please leave this thread if you find it offensive. My own view is that I do not care what happens to my remains. This is because I do not regard those remains as being ‘me’. In my personal opinion there simple won’t be a ‘me’ anymore.

I have some experience of this subject which I wish to relate in order to explain my thinking. 1964 my mother died at the rather early age of 59. My older brother, who was permanently living abroad, came over for the funeral. I told him that she had clearly told me that she wished to be cremated. He was quite unhappy at this and tried to talk me out of it by asking whether I was sure that she had said that. I replied that I was absolutely sure of it. It was obvious to me that he had been influenced by his wife who was, and indeed still is, a Roman Catholic. I insisted on doing what she had wanted.

He then objected to the Crematorium’s plan to scatter her ashes on their very attractive and extensive garden. We then compromised by having some of the ashes put in an ornamental urn placed in a niche. A suitable inscription was agreed and inscribed on the urn. My brother returned to his home and we both got on with our lives. The contract with the Crematorium was initially for ten years. In 1974 they wrote to me asking whether I wished the urn to remain for another 10 years. I replied that I did and sent the appropriate cheque. This was repeated at ten year intervals.